OPs secure newly structured Owers Trophy

The Old Pauline Vs club secured another Owers Trophy after entering two teams into this year’s newly structured tournament. The 2012 leavers team, captained by Theo Parker (team: Parker, Francis & Russell) were joined by a strong OP team, captained by Cunis Cup champion Julian Aquilina (team: Aquilina, Beltrami & Tristao). 
Three man teams with nine teams in total split into three groups of three produced four teams into the semi finals (Confused? Me too!). Both OP teams progressed to the final though giving the club its first one-two in the tournament’s history. 

Julian’s team came through in the final with him commenting afterwards:

“The match was played in great spirit, Dan typically produced some moments of flair to excite the crowd and Ben was at his brutal best in cracking returns of serve time after time. I did alright too…

Losing captain, Theo Parker struggled to come to terms with the defeat:

“It was a tough final. Tristao’s left hand smash volley into the floor gave me hope but we weren’t helped by our bagel loss to Aquilina & Beltrami. 

The winning team below – Aquilina holding his second trophy in two weeks. 



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s