Aquilina adds name to the Cunis Cup

A new name was added today to the Cunis Cup with Julian Aquilina coming through a tough field. 

Winning all his games, Julian showed a mix of power, precision and superior fitness over the other entrants. 

He finished four points ahead of last year’s champ’ Theo Parker who, was not quite able to pull off back to back tournament wins. 

As is usual, the tournament was followed by the annual AGM in which not very much was decided. However in the absence of the tournament winner, Julian was promoted to a position on the committee (position TBC, Julian yet to be told!). The other decision was to leave the now vacant position of President empty for the year – this following the death of Alastair McKenzie in the summer. 


Cunis Cup 2015 date announced

The OP handicapped singles tournament The Cunis Cup will take place on Sunday 20 September. 

Entries via the usual channel or get in touch through the contact us page. 

The new Owers Trophy – message from the RFA president

From the President of the RFA

Hallo, all you Old Paulines

With four weeks till the new-style Owers Trophy competition takes place I am hoping that you may be some way to forming a team or squad to take part. We are hoping for a record turn-out as we adopt the new format of three-persons per team and short matches.

If you are unaware of the changes we have decided to make, please go to . You will find, among other things, that teams can include Old Girls and/or a current pupil.

The person with the arduous task of collating the flood of entries we expect (!) is the organiser, Alex Smith. He will be delighted to hear from whomsoever decides to lead your side(s) on the day: Saturday, September 26th at St. Paul’s

I imagine Tom Dean will be delighted to be flooded with volunteers to play!

All the best

Bob D.

2015 President’s Cup won by Beltrami & Esin

Although there were fewer entrants than would have been liked, the 2015 Old Pauline President’s Cup was as competitive as ever. Four pairs played in a round-robin each playing the other pairs twice to 11 – as one perceptive entrant realised, this meant they had to play six games to 11!

With all pairs in with a shout of the trophy, it was a surprise that one of the four pre-tournament favourites – Julian Aquilina and Matt Nunes, went down heavily in their opening two games against Dan Tristao and Matt Hanney.

The other pairs Alexander Esin & Ben Beltrami and Sam Russell & Sid Bhushan battled through a tense opening game, Sam yet again showing that playing Vs after a heavy Saturday night was a breeze.

Alexander & Ben won both games and then followed this up with a combination of big hitting and excellent retrieval to down Julain & Matt in their second round of games.

Going into the final round Dan & Matt needed to win with a healthy points difference to overtake Alexander & Ben. Could Matt get his name back on the trophy after nine years? Could Dan get his name on the trophy? The answer, no. Ben was ruthless and Alexander relentless. Congratulations to both on an excellent victory.

OP President’s Cup – date set and entries being accepted

The 2015 President’s Cup will be held on St Paul’s courts on Sunday 22 March in the afternoon.

The format will be as previous years in that you don’t need a doubles partner. These will be picked on the day to make sure for the most even contest.

Although you won’t know who you’ll be paired up with, you can be guaranteed an excellent day of Vs.

The usual post cup beer will be had at the Bridge pub.

Get in touch if you’d like to play!

OP team retain Owers Trophy

A squad of six took part in the annual Owers Trophy – the old boy’s tournament. The OP team were looking to make it five in a row and succeeded with a dominant display throughout, dropping only the one game to the Old Wykehamists.

The team included Ben Beltrami, Tom Dean, Sam Roberts, Sam Russell, Matt Shaw and Dan Tristao.

Well played and a particular mention for Matt – the ultimate squad player for playing in every game!

You can find a full report on the RFA website.

Owers Trophy Team 2014

Owers Trophy Team 2014